Trouble at Spanky’s

cullotta-cover-web.jpgFrank’s second attempt at running a legitimate lounge also ran into trouble. This time it wasn’t from the law, but from one of his former associates.

Excerpted from CULLOTTA – The Life of a Chicago Criminal, Las Vegas Mobster, and Government Witness.

Frank’s brother Joey was working for him part-time as a doorman. One night when Frank came in he learned there had been a problem. “I had a little trouble with some kids earlier,” Joey said. “I ran them out, but one of their fathers is connected.”

“Was anybody hurt?”

“No, nothing like that. I just made them leave.”

It didn’t sound serious and Frank forgot about it. But half an hour later an Outfit guy named Louie the Mooch came in the bar; Mooch worked for Outfit boss Joe Aiuppa. He said, “Frankie, what the fuck did you hit my son for?”

“What the hell are you talking about? I haven’t hit anybody and I didn’t even know you had a son.”

“I’m talking about my stepson. He said you roughed him up and threw him out.”

“He’s mistaken, Louie. I just got here a little while ago and I haven’t had a beef with anybody.”

Louie called his stepson in. He looked at Frank and said, “Yeah, he’s the guy.”

“You’re full of shit. I’ve never seen you before,” Frank said.

The Mooch had come into the bar with an attitude and now he was even madder. “Nobody smacks my kid around. You’re gonna pay for that.”

“I told you I never saw the kid before. Now get the fuck out of my place, both of you.”

“We’ll leave,” Mooch said, “but this isn’t the end of it. I’m gonna get you whacked, you cocksucker!” 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

